Our Spare Room

{Written by Amber}

Yes, this post is about some furnishings we found for our spare room, but I will first back up and explain why we went scavenging for furniture in the first place.

Well, we are happy to announce that we are… getting a computer! Without a computer, we haven’t been able to watch movies, and I’ve been stuck doing all blog entries on my phone or iPad. I also haven’t been able to use my camera because I have no way of downloading the pictures. The pictures I do post are taken on my phone, and then emailed to my iPad where I can touch-write and compose the entries. It has been a pain, so we are very excited about this! Since we both have iPads, we decided to get a Mac Mini to replace the MacBook. Well, getting a new computer does mean buying a new computer, and nobody wants to do that, right?

Thankfully, we didn’t have to. Last year, Jared and I had accumulated quite a few credit card bonus points. (The year before we used our points to get free, round-trip flights the Dominican Republic.) After investigating our point situation, Jared discovered that we had more than enough points to get us a new Mac Mini, a Mac mouse and keyboard, 16 gigs of RAM, and a LifeProof iPhone case. After all was said and done, we still had extra points left over. With just the price of shipping, we are getting a whole new computer set up plus a phone case. What a blessing!

With that being said, we decided to drive around town to see if any Koreans were moving out of their apartment and leaving a desk behind. It was definitely our lucky day. At the first place we stopped, we found a vanity table. We drove to another set of apartments and picked up a really nice oak bedside table. At the next stop we found a nearly new leather Odin Sofa lounge chair. At this point, our car was packed beyond the roof, literally. Even though we didn’t find a desk, we were more than happy with the items we did find.

And yes, we drove across town with that on our car. Jared held onto one side and I held onto the other. Our hands nearly froze off, but we made it back!

What’s a bonus to driving around with a giant chair on top of your car with no straps holding it down? No one tailgates you.

20130221-173158.jpg

The chair and bedside table really brought our spare room together.

20130221-173212.jpg

With my vanity table all set up, I finally have a proper place to keep my hair dryer and straightener (I had been keeping them on top of our refrigerator). Oh, I can also put my make up on without the bottom of my pants getting wet (since our bathroom is literally our shower, the floor is always wet!).

20130221-173235.jpg

10 thoughts on “Our Spare Room

  1. I am having the best time following your blog! 🙂 It still amazes me that Koreans throw out such awesome furniture! I especially love that lounger chair….
    -Maegan

Leave a Reply

