Eating in Korea

{Written by Amber}

Okay, okay… Yes, people have been asking the question, what do you guys eat over there? Well, I wanted to wait a month before actually writing a post about the food (just to make sure I’m giving everyone a well rounded perspective). Wait, you’ve been there a month? Yes, it’s true. We’ve actually been here a little over a month… And it’s about time I reflect on what we’ve been eating, what’ve been doing at work, and how we spend our free time. But today, I will stick to what’s really important–food.

Surprisingly (even to us), our diet hasn’t drastically changed. The main difference is that we consume less meat, especially beef. You can find beef here, but it will cost you a pretty penny (about $6.00/lb.). We have also found decently priced chicken… and we found bacon at Costco. But, even though we have these items, we know they are special and we ration them out. With that being said, we eat a lot of fresh fruits and vegetables… and, eggs (we eat about 2.5 dozen eggs a week!). Fried eggs, scrambled eggs, egg burritos, egg sandwiches, and hard boiled eggs.
Here are some typical breakfasts (which we eat morning, noon, and night)…

20130225-114441.jpg

20130225-114636.jpg

20130225-114646.jpg

20130225-114658.jpg

20130225-114705.jpg

20130225-114711.jpg

20130225-114721.jpg
If we have an actual “dinner” for dinner (instead of breakfast), we will cook spaghetti, chicken sandwiches, chicken and rice, or chicken and something-to-go-along-with-it.

If we decide to go out and eat, we have a whole world of options…

Pizza (Korean style):

20130225-115219.jpg
Traditional Korean:

20130225-115228.jpg
And anything from Mexican to even Turkish:

20130225-115538.jpg
Well, as you can see, we aren’t starving. And getting adapted to eating over here has been much easier than we though it would be.

Yes, we want to learn how to cook Korean food so that we can make it at home (and I’m sure we will get around to doing this), but you can eat traditional Korean at a restaurant for the price of buying the ingredients (with the exception of Korean BBQ). So, we haven’t exactly been motivated to learn and make Korea cuisine… Which is why we have learned how to make “familiar food” with what we can easily find in the market or at the grocery store.

Stay tuned as I reflect on teaching over the past month, and how life has been in general!

19 thoughts on “Eating in Korea

      • well, pizza is different in each part of Italy too: I live in Tuscany now and I must say that the best pizza is made in the South of Italy! Probably it depends on ‘mozzarella’ or on the quality of water.. boh!!! 🙂

      • Nice. I’ve had pizza in Rome and I loved it. However, my husband went on another trip to Italy and wasn’t as fond of it. So I guess you’re right! But that’s good info and I’ll keep it in mind next time we are over there!

  1. It’s great to see you’re also trying some of the traditional korean foods (such as kimbap) if you’re up for trying the ‘real’ korean dishes I’d recommend any type of jige (kimchi jige/ sundubu jige) it’s quite nutricious too as it comes with side-dishes, but it might be a little spicy ^^ hope you enjoy a lot more food while in Korea 😉

    • Thank you! Ism very excited about trying more Korean food. I’ve liked pretty much everything I’ve tried so far… I’ve eaten a lot more Korean food than alluded to in the blog… It’s just that I don’t know the names for the dishes I’m eating, and I don’t have pictures of them… So it kind of makes it hard to “blog” about, if you know what I mean. I’ll get to that point though!

  2. Don’t forget to enjoy the street food 🙂 I recommend “Kimchi Chronicles” (the series can be found on youtube) for easy Korean recipes and learning more about Korean food. Hope you enjoy 😉

Leave a Reply

