What Korean Kids Eat for Lunch

On Friday, we had the privilege of going on a picnic with our Kindergarten kids! We were especially excited about this adventure because it meant we would be out of the classroom. We all piled into the bus and headed to a park on the other side of the island. Little did I know that we’d be in for a mini-culture-shock concerning what Korean kids eat for lunch!

Picnic Lunch in Geoje

ECC Picnic Lunch in Geoje

Of course, upon our arrival, we stopped for a quick photo shoot.

ECC Picnic Lunch in Geoje ECC Picnic Lunch in Geoje

We wondered around the park for a while…

ECC Picnic Lunch in Geoje ECC Picnic Lunch in Geoje ECC Picnic Lunch in Geoje ECC Picnic Lunch in Geoje ECC Picnic Lunch in Geoje ECC Picnic Lunch in Geoje ECC Geoje The English Travelers

We also stopped to have our picture taken with the bride and groom statues.

Geoje Korean Bride and Groom

And then we sat down for our picnic lunch. I’m going to be honest with you, when I heard “picnic,” I automatically assumed sandwiches and juice boxes. It was only after I sat down that it occurred to me that we were having a picnic–in Korea… I found myself fascinated with the kid’s lunches, and I took a couple of pictures because I thought it might interest you as well. As you will see, it’s quite different from what is in the average child’s lunch box in the States.

What Korean Kids Eat for Lunch Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea What Korean Kids Eat for Lunch Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea What Korean Kids Eat for Lunch Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea What Korean Kids Eat for Lunch in Geoje, South Korea What Korean Kids Eat for Lunch in Geoje, South Korea What Korean Kids Eat for Lunch in Geoje, South Korea
Our lunch looked surprising similar… It was actually quite delicious. We especially enjoyed the cherries!Typical Picnic Lunch in South Korea
We were exhausted by the end of the day, and little did we know that we had quite the weekend ahead of us. Stay tuned as I bring you more posts on some DIY projects I completed… And as I inform you about my husbands latest… em… adventures.

Is it just me, or do the lunches seem slightly healthier than what we give our kids back home?

6 thoughts on “What Korean Kids Eat for Lunch

  1. Oh my goodness. My daughters would LOVE a Korean picnic, but yes, it is so very different than the pb&j on white bread, hostess snack, and fruit snacks that kids get sent with here. Thanks for sharing this!

    • Jessie, it was so cute to see all of the little kids with their chopsticks. I think a Korean picnic lunch would make a great cultural/educational experience for kids back home! Gimbap (Korea’s sushi) and fruit seemed to be the most common items I saw. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks for reading!

  2. Three things:
    1) What a fun picnic!
    2) I just want to squeeze all those kiddies… so freakin’ adorable!
    3) Love me some sushi… favorite food ever, and man do those meals look ever so different than ours… but so tasty!

Leave a Reply

