Homemade Lotion in 15 Minutes!

I got into making skin care products last year. The one thing that amazed me is how simple it is! Lotions, lip balms, creams, and body butters require a few base ingredients, some essential oils for your desired scent, a little bit of melting and mixing, and fifteen minutes later you have a wonderful, healthy, all natural skin care product. I mean, who would have thought that you could make homemade lotion in 15 minutes!?

Amanda came over this past weekend, and we put our skills to work. We based our ingredients and measurements off of Kate’s recipe from Wellness Mama. I have used her recipes before, and they have never let me down. She has great information on health, fitness, DIYing, natural living, and much more!

We used olive oil, cocoanut oil, beeswax and essential oils for fragrance. You might be asking yourself–how did you get those ingredients in Korea? Simple. We didn’t. We ordered them on iHerb.com. They ship to Korea for a flat rate of $4.00 (there is a weight limit of 15lbs.)

DIY All Natural Lotion

We added all of the ingredients (except for the essential oils) in our make-shift double broiler, and waited for it to melt.

DIY All Natural LotionDIY All Natural Lotion

DIY All Natural Lotion

We poured the liquid lotion (about a half cup) into our mini jars and added about 50 drops of essential oil. Yes, we used chopsticks to mix it!

IMG_3981

DIY All Natural Lotion

The lotion turned out quite nice. I thought it was a little heavy, so I’ve been using it at night so it has plenty of time to “soak” into my skin, and I feel like a baby in the morning.

DIY All Natural Lotion

We also whipped up a quick batch of sugar scrub! Sugar scrub is the easiest thing to make. All you do is add your desired amount of sugar (or salt, for more oily skin), a few spoonfuls of oil (olive, almond, cocoanut, etc.) and mix it until it’s your desired consistency. Add a few drops of your favorite essential oil, and you’re all set!

DIY All Natural Lotion

In about 15 minutes, we had these wonderful, all-natural, beauty products!

IMG_3987

Here’s the recipe we used for the lotion:

  • 1/2 cup almond or olive oil (can infuse with herbs first if desired)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup beeswax
  • 2 tablespoons Shea Butter
  • Essential Oils (we used 50 drops for peppermint, and 100 for the orange!)
  • We also added natural coloring just for fun!

And for the sugar scrub:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 20-30 drops Essential Oil

IMG_3993

Stay tuned at I post some more DIY projects from the weekend!

Have you done any DIYing lately? If so, let me know! I’ve been on a non-creative streak lately, and I’m hoping this last weekend is the boost I’ve been needing to get back into the crafting mode!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Lotion in 15 Minutes!

  1. I just made some very similar stuff last week, but then I whipped it up in the kitchenaide and had the fluffiest body butter ever. It’s pretty scrumptious!

    • That’s great! I wish I could make body butter here! I don’t have a mixer though. We will have to have a spa day when I get home and whip up all sorts of creations!!!

Leave a Reply

