How to Make S’mores in an ESL Class

We’ve been reading about camping for the past month in one of my classes, and this week, we are reading about how to make S’mores!

S'mores in Class

I couldn’t stand the thought of just reading about how to make a s’more. We’ve got to make them! However, I ran into a problem; my school doesn’t have a microwave, and I didn’t know of another way to melt a marshmallow (for obvious reasons, fire wasn’t an option). If only Korea had marshmallow fluff! Being unsuccessful in finding anything similar to marshmallow fluff, I set out to make my own marshmallow cream.

I melted marshmallows on the stove (in a make-shift double broiler), and added honey in hopes that it would work.

Making Marshmallow Fluff Making Marshmallow Fluff Making Marshmallow Fluff Making Marshmallow Fluff Making Marshmallow Fluff

I put it in a ziplock bag so I could just cut a corner off and squeeze it out. All seemed promising–until it cooled. It became one very sticky large marshmallow glued to the inside of a ziplock.

IMG_1091

I took the giant marshmallow to school the next day in hopes that it would somehow work. Jared gave me the brilliant idea of using hot water (at our school) to “remelt” the giant marshmallow. I wasn’t sure if it would work, but it did! And the bag idea worked great as well. I was very pleased that I could do this for my kids, and they were happy about it too! Only one of my students had previously had a s’more, so I was pretty happy about introducing this somewhat Western snack to them.

S'mores in ClassS'mores in Class

This little boy (below) is normally a bit of a trouble maker, but he was on his best behavior while enjoying this delicious treat. In his own words: “Teacher, this is delicious. Today, class is good!”

S'mores in ClassS'mores in ClassS'mores in ClassS'mores in Class S'mores in Class S'mores in Class

Yes, it was a little messy, but I had paper towels and whips ready to to go! I wish I would have snapped a few pictures of me making the s’mores, but my hands were sticky and I was too busy trying to keep this gooey mess from getting out of control.

I’m looking for more Western crafts and activities to do with my kids. Do you have any suggestions?

 

4 thoughts on “How to Make S’mores in an ESL Class

  1. I love these pictures… Especially with the marshmallow stringing from that precious little boys’ mouth! This was something I really wanted to introduce to my kiddos too, but marshmallows don’t exist in Spain. 😦 Most of my ideas for my kids came around the holidays- they had never made a gingerbread house before, so we did that. Most days, all they really want are chocolate chip cookies, haha (another thing rarely found here!).

Leave a Reply

