An Overnight Stay at a Jjimjilbang

The Dragon Hill Spa and Resort has been coined the “best jjimjilbang in Korea” by travel advisors. It was also featured on CNN Travel, and in New York Time’s Travel magazine. Since we were looking for a budget-friendly place to stay in Seoul, our friend Tarria suggested that we try this spa. After all, you can’t beat 12,000 won ($12) lodging per person. Since my first Jjimjilbang experience went well, and I was excited about doing it again. We are glad our friends Ethan and Sandra decided to embark on this adventure with us!

(If you are wanting to go, the spa is located across from Yongsan KTX Station in Seoul.)

The Dragon Hill Spa and Resort is 7 stories tall, and it has everything from an outdoor movie theater, to a pool, to saunas and ice rooms. This spa has it all. Not only does it have the segregated bathing areas with pools of all temperatures, jet-massage hot tubs, and showering amenities, but it also has many community rooms with all sorts of activities. Everything from gaming rooms to snack bars (and a restaurant) to pool-side sun bathing.

I managed to snap a few pictures of the community areas inside the spa. The picture below is a community resting area. You can sleep here, or there are segregated sleeping rooms upstairs (men’s on the 5th floor, and women’s on the 6th) with mats and foam blocks for pillows. If you want a blanket, you can rent one for 3,000 won ($3). But make sure you don’t stay up too late, because if the spa is busy, all of the mats will be taken by the time you get upstairs (yes, we, the girls, learned this the hard way).

Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul, An Overnight Stay at a Jjimjilbang in Seoul

Here is the outdoor swimming pool… if we had known there would be a pool, we would have brought our swimsuits!

Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul

Some more community rooms… there were TVs, snack bars, and even a place to get your nails done.

Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul

Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul

Here were some of the dry saunas. Yep, you just open that little door and crawl right in.

Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul

The medium temperature room was bearable, but the high temp room was insanely hot, especially for a girl who doesn’t do well in heat in the first place.

Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul

We headed over the the ice rooms next, and yes, after sweating in the saunas it felt amazing.

Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul

 

Dragon Hill Spa in Seoul

Well, that’s the extent of my pictures, but like I said earlier, if you’re in Seoul and looking for an affordable place to stay, try out the Dragon Hill Spa. Oh, and I’d recommend that if you’re a light sleeper to bring ear plugs. The sleeping rooms are fairly quiet, but phones and alarms start going off around 6am.

Actually, even if you aren’t looking for a place to stay the night, I’d still recommend giving this place a visit. We all felt the amenities were well worth the 12 bucks we spent.

6 thoughts on “An Overnight Stay at a Jjimjilbang

  1. I have heard a lot about these spas from my Korean in-laws. How is the birthday suit part? My sister-in-law is getting married next year & I fear a trip to one of these spas will be one of the ‘treats’ we get before the wedding. Thankfully, I can use my kids as an excuse not to go. . . being in my birthday suit in front of my MIL & SIL is not my idea of relaxation

    • I’d encourage it if you think you’re up for the birthday suit part! Honestly, it took me about 5 minutes to get used to EVERYONE being naked, but after that, I was fine with the whole situation. I was kind of worried about what they would think of a foreigner being in there, but no one seemed to care. Overall, I really enjoyed it. I would not have even tried it if it had not been for my sister who highly encouraged it, and I’m so glad she did 🙂

Leave a Reply

